Date: 04 August 2016

Following a frantic, action-packed campaign, the 2016 AMCA British Motocross Championship reaches it’s penultimate round this weekend in a meeting hosted by the Cheltenham Spa MXC. 

The destination for the competing riders in this super series powered by Datatag and supported by Dunlop is the spectacular Gloucestershire track at Brookthorpe.

Going into the meeting, it’s now looking very much like a big two-way battle right to the wire for the MX1 crown featuring the very consistent duo of leader Luke Burton and Gary Gibson. During the latest round held at Boraston, it was Gibson who took both moto wins but the DK Offroad-Kawasaki pilot still has plenty of work to do as he still trails the smooth Burton by 51 points. With a Boraston podium, Richard Cannings has jumped back into 3rd spot in the standings as the combination of James Dodd, Ryan Crowder and defending Champion Luke Dean continue to remain right in the hunt for a final medal position. Currently rounding out the MX1 top ten are John May, Clinton Barrs, Luke Meredith and Adam Harris who has had a great season aboard his 250cc two-stroke Yamaha.

Although Ray Rowson has won the last two rounds of MX2 action, there’s no doubt who’s leading the charge to the title. Josh Waterman is the pilot in control, a very big 151 points clear of Lewis King. Mathematically and regardless if his rivals results, the dominant Waterman requires just another six top ten finishes in the remaining moto’s to be crowned the Master of 2016. Thanks to an impressive Boraston podium, Adam Wells has moved up into 3rd spot with Jansen Day, Bradley Tranter, Luke Mellows, Paul Neale and young James Wainwright still remaining very much in contention. Mellows in particular will be determined to bounce back at Brookthorpe. Holding a top three place for a majority of the season, the FUS Husqvarna rider crashed out during round five!

After thirteen 2T moto’s completed, Ben Saunders boasts an incredible record of 9 wins and 4 second places. Leading the charge to glory, Ben has stretched his advantage at the top of the title standings during the last two rounds. A comfortable 93 point gap is now the difference between himself and James Lane who has remained a very gallant, serious title challenger throughout. Just 34 points separate Eliot Stones, Richard Lloyd, Matthew Bath and Sam Callow battling for 3rd spot. Holding a fantastic 7th at present and also leading the separately scored 125cc class is teenager Rory Jones whilst Jack Waterman, Matthew Nash and Jamie Powell round off the top ten. Powell has been buoyed by two consecutive podium placings.

The 2016 Veterans Championship chase as been very much dominated by the current top three of Matt Gordon, Simon Lane and Terry House. Between them they have shared all 13 moto wins and the majority of silverware on offer, the only other rider to enjoy a podium place being Danny Blakeley. At present Gordon leads the way on 704 points with defending Champ Lane on 659 and House 625, the latter’s scoring effected by two crucial DNF’s! With just two rounds remaining, Gary Jones, Garry J Williams, Stephen Marlow, Darren Bennett and Brian Staples are also in the mix. Staples also leads the separately scored Veterans Over 50 class.

So Brookthorpe is the place to be on Sunday, August 7th. The circuit can be found just outside of Gloucester, postcode GL4 0UT and will be signposted from A4173 Gloucester to Stroud road and also the B4073 Gloucester to Painswick. Admission charges are £7 Adults, £5 OAP and Children Under-14 FREE with the first race due to get away by 11am.

AMCA MX1(top ten) 1 Luke Burton(Rikki Priest Frasier Husqvarna UK) 740 points 2 Gary Gibson(DK Offroad Kawasaki) 689 3 Richard Cannings(M & S Brettle Honda) 581 4 James Dodd(FUS Moto4 Fro Husqvarna) 572 5 Ryan Crowder(Rocket Centre KTM) 539 6 Luke Dean(Meredith MX Suzuki) 528 7 John May(Technical Solutions KTM) 481 8  Clinton Barrs(DK Offroad Husqvarna) 440 9 Luke Meredith(Vernon Aggregates Husqvarna) 437 10 Adam Harris(Gibson Tyres Yamaha) 383.

AMCA MX2(top ten) 1 Josh Waterman(JD Racing/IDS KTM) 689 points 2 Lewis King(Wulfsport/Rock-Oil Suzuki) 538  3 Adam Wells(Factoryroof/ Apico Yamaha) 531 4 Jansen Day(AJP/Passion Racing KTM) 521 5 Bradley Tranter (SevenSeven2 Yamaha UK) 498 6 Luke Mellows(FUS Moto4 Fro Husqvarna) 487 7 Paul Neale(TMC Kawasaki) 473 8  James Wainwright(Wainwright Haulage KTM) 467 9 Zac Stealey(Dulson Training Yamaha) 432 10 Cory McShane(AJP KTM) 419.

AMCA 2T(top ten) 1 Ben Saunders(KTM) 756 points 2 James Lane(AJP KTM) 663 3 Elliot Stones 510 4 Richard Lloyd(32Five Yamaha) 487 5 Matthew Bath(Midwest Husqvarna) 478 6 Sam Callow(C7 Auto Solutions Yamaha) 476 7  Rory Jones(Tim Loveday KTM) 426 8 Jack Waterman(KTM) 426 9 Matthew Nash(MHP Racing KTM) 415 10 Jamie Powell(KTM) 400.

AMCA Veterans(top ten) 1 Matt Gordon(Centre Solutions Suzuki) 704 points 2 Simon Lane(LRT Honda) 659 3 Terry House(Crescent KTM) 625 4 Danny Blakeley(DS Racing/Wulfsport Yamaha) 613 5 Gary Jones(KTM) 585 6 Garry J Williams (Yamaha) 517 7 Stephen Marlow(DSL FRO KTM) 452 8 Darren Bennett(Kawasaki) 450 9 Brian Staplesd(1st MX/MTR Honda) 444 10 Martin Atherton(Honda) 368.