So, this is it then, as the four moto’s due to be contested at Brookthorpe this weekend will ultimately decide the destination of the 2023 AMCA British Motocross Championship titles. And, with a maximum of 200 points still on offer, mathematically it’s all still to play for!

Going into this finale in Gloucestershire hosted by the Cheltenham Spa MXC, 125cc series leader Luke Dean holds one of the biggest advantages and if everything goes to plan, he could well be celebrating early on day two at Brookthorpe! On his Meredith MX Fantic, Luke has won 11 out of 20 moto’s throughout the campaign and been in terrific form. At present he’s 97 points clear at the top with Jack Cox and Damon Strydom chasing. With Dean on fire this class really does now look likely to be the hunt for silver and bronze with Harry Linton and Charlie Palmer still right in contention.

Also, in great form throughout the season and holding a nice advantage at the top is BWMA Women’s Championship leader Marni Saunders. On 14 out of 20 occasions, Marni has been the first lady past the chequered flag and barring a disaster she certainly looks odds on favourite for the title. If she completes her mission and brings it home safely, it will be a richly deserved first BWMA crown for the Kawasaki rider. During the last round at Bromsberrow, Hannah Jones moved above Caitlin Newman and up into 2nd in the standings. Caitlin though will be racing on home ground this weekend and is sure to be very determined to fight back! Also, still very much in the hunt for a final top three spot in this very competitive class are Grace Bates, Hollie Roberts and Amber McGregor.

The BWMA Women race in the same class as the 125cc Youth and in that one its Apex GasGas UK pilot Shane Jones leading the charge. At present having suffered just an incredible two defeats in 20 moto’s, Shane has a 49 point lead over the equally consistent Wyatt McGregor. Mathematically the only other two lads now challenging for a final medal position are Jack Evans and Will Turner. Both of these two aces have moved up from the 2022 Youth 85cc series and have given a great account of themselves, consistently right on it and very competitive.

In the 2023 Youth 85cc title race its AD Modular/Beer Trading Company KTM pilot Oakley Kettle in charge. The Kettle has really been boiling in the second half of the Championship with his fast, smooth riding style gliding him into top slot and a tidy 43-point lead! Now holding 2nd place in this one is Oliver Bebb after George Clark, a season long contender dropped down after not enjoying a very profitable meeting last time out at Bromsberrow. George is though still in touch for honours along with Mason Care and Bobby Watson. Holding 6th in this Youth 85cc contest is Ryan Jackson and he also leads the separately scored SW85cc class with Jacob Ince his closest challenger, 89 points in arrears.

Mixing it with the lads are the BWMA 85cc Girls and that particular contest could well prove to be the one that goes right down to the wire and a final moto decider! Last time out at Bromsberrow, Checoby Rainey surged to the top of the standings after trailing Holly Williams for most of the campaign. The determined Checoby is just 10 points clear of Holly whilst Erin Howes is 3rd and holding a rather nervous 14-point advantage over serial overall BWMA 85cc Championship round winner Leah Rees-Evans, this one is going to be a thriller!

Talking of thrillers, what about the battle that as raged all season at the top of the Open class! At every round, James Dodd (FUS Marsh Geartec Husqvarna) and Henry Williams (Apex GasGas UK) have been right at it with a stunning head-to-head which Dodd currently leads by 31 points. This one looks set to almost certainly only be decided in the last clash of the series, it’s a shame that there can only be one winner! As it stands, the equally consistent Will Hughes looks favourite to bag 3rd overall with his main challenger for that position being Mark Roberts.

Having won four consecutive major AMCA titles, 125cc, Open and a MX2 double, Welsh ace Shane Carless is now after an incredible MX2 hat-trick. Going into the Brookthorpe event, Shane leads the way again and is 34 points clear of the hard charging Rory Jones. On his IDS/Cox Cranes Ltd GasGas, Jones though is certainly a rider who’s been right on it throughout the entire Championship season. Buoyed after scoring a maiden AMCA MX2 overall win last time out at Bromsberrow, Rory will be hoping to take the race for the MX2 title right down to the wire! There could also be a major scramble in MX2 for the right to finish 3rd overall as local lad Lee Truman attempts to fend off Jake Preston and Liam Gale. At present just a total of 71 points separates these three lads.

Riding in their home County, the 2023 season long AMCA Vets Championship title contenders Simon and James Lane look like taking their family tussle right down to a last moto decider! At present, Simon holds the upper hand with a 45-point advantage at the summit. Also, still right in the hunt is the equally consistent Matt Ryder. The Honda rider is having a great season as he tops the separately scored Vets Over 50’s Championship, 61 points better off than Brian Staples.

So come Sunday evening, who will be celebrating a 2023 AMCA British Motocross Championship title? Well, the best way to find out is make sure that you are there at Brookthorpe, near Gloucester, GL4 0UT  to witness the outcome. There’s racing on both Saturday and Sunday with the admission costs being Adults £10 and OAP’s £5 for one day or Adults £15 Oap’s £10 for the entire weekend. On both day’s Kids Under 16 can watch the action for FREE providing that they are accompanied by a paying Adult.       

Leading Championship positions.

Open 1 James Dodd 1323 points 2 Henry Williams 1292 3 Will Hughes 1219 4 Mark Roberts 1151 5 Aaron Collins 1017 6 Adam Wells 882.

MX2 1 Shane Carless 1291 points 2 Rory Jones 1257 3 Lee Truman 1143 4 Jake Preston 1093 5 Liam Gale 1072 6 Alfie Calvert    1010.

125cc 1 Luke Dean 1305 points 2 Jack Cox 1208 3 Damon Strydom 1146 4 Harry Linton 1135 5 Charlie Palmer 1097 6 Stuart Owen 990.

Youth 125cc 1 Shane Jones 1297 points 2 Wyatt McGregor 1248 3 Jack Evans 1215 4 Will Turner 1189 5 Philip Tchorek 1108 6 Logan Jay Powell 973.

BWMA Women 1 Marni Saunders 1328 points 2 Hannah Jones 1230 3 Caitlin Newman 1215 4 Grace Bates 1178 5 Hollie Roberts 1174 6 Amber McGregor 1113.

BWMA Girls 85cc  1 Checoby Rainey 1290 points 2 Holly Williams 1280 3 Erin Howes 1175 4 Leah Rees-Evans 1161 5 Poppy Banning 1137 6 Sophie Jones 1123.

Youth 85cc  1 Oakley Kettle 1249 points 2 Oliver Bebb 1206 3 George Clark 1136 4 Mason Care 1126 5 Bobby Watson 1084 6 Ryan Jackson 1045.

SW85cc 1 Ryan Jackson 1328 points 2 Jacob Ince 1239 3 Aston Whitehead 1205 4 Lewis Day 753 5 Harry Jones 753 6 Ryan Tilley 698.

Veterans 1 Simon Lane 1293 points 2 James Lane 1248 3 Matt Ryder 1221 4 Richard Meakin 1139 5 Matthew Chaplin 1101 6 Brian Staples 1082.

Veterans Over 50’s 1 Matt Ryder 1332 2 Brian Staples 1271 3 Stuart Kilmarten 1227 4 Simon Bonser 739.

Words and Images by Mike Wood